Appeal No. 28

Lebanon v Iceland

Appeals Committee:

Jens Auken (Chairman, Denmark), Herman De Wael (Scribe, Belgium), Naki Bruni (Italy), 

Grattan Endicott (England), Steen Møller (Denmark)

Open Teams Round 23

Board 7. Dealer South. All Vulnerable.
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All Pass

Comments: 

(1) forcing

(2) RKCB

Contract: Six Spades, played by South

Result: 12 tricks, NS +1430

The Facts: 

West called the Director, claiming that the tray had stayed on the North/East side for some time before returning with 5{. South did not agree to this, and the Director asked on the other side. North admitted that he had needed some time to consider his response, since he could show his void if he had held an Ace, but not in the case of the fifth key-card. East said it had taken some 15 seconds, and the scorer, who was Polish, also said 15 seconds.

The Director: 

Ruled that according to the Code of Practice, a delay of 15 seconds in the return of the tray does not carry any unauthorized information.

Ruling: 

Result Stands

Relevant Laws: 

Law 16A

East/West appealed.

Present: All players and both Captains

The Players: 

East/West stated that while it is not always easy to bid in proper tempo, it should be possible to give the answer to a Blackwood question in less than 15 seconds. The hesitation shows something extra, and this makes bidding 6[ easier.

North agreed that he had paused, thinking about showing his void in clubs and deciding against it without a true Ace.

West told the Committee that at the table, everybody had agreed about the hesitation. The Director had written “agreed hesitation” before leaving the table to consider the case. He thought there should be no more discussion about that part of the ruling.

South stated that he already knew partner had the void in Clubs. After all, the opponents are World Champions and they have bid 2} and 4}. If partner had shown two key-cards, he would have bid Seven Spades.

West further stated that South had been fiddling with his bidding card of 5[, but South denied this. West had not told this to the Director at the time of the ruling.

The Committee: 

Read the relevant part of the Code of Practice:

“The WBF considers it desirable that players should vary the tempo randomly when returning the tray under the screen. Where North and South are the players with next turn to call when the tray is received, these are the players who are responsible for the movement of the tray. It is considered there can be no implications if a tray returns after 15 seconds or less. This period may be extended in the later stages of a complicated or competitive auction without necessarily creating implications.”

The Committee found that the Director had been correct, in accordance with the Code of Practice, in ruling there had been no misinformation.

On a lighter note, the Committee also considered the bidding, finding that South had been correct in assuming that partner had a void in clubs. Opponents’ bidding suggested they had 9 clubs (or even 10) and added to his 4, this did not leave many for partner.

The Committee’s decision:

Director’s ruling upheld.

Deposit: Returned

